Tuesday, July 25, 2006

Results from the Oklahoma State Election Board

Our staff spread out tonight to make as many watch parties as possible in the metro area while vicechair Ben Odom sat in as an analyst for OETA-TV. Elaine Dodd, former Tulsa County Democratic Party chairman, also appeared on OETA election coverage tonight.

Our candidates and their families, their staffs and volunteers are to be congratulated for weeks and months of hard work and positive campaigning that will serve them well as we move into the runoffs and general election in November.

Congratulations to Governor Brad Henry.

Congratulations to Jari Askins and Pete Regan who will face off once again in the runoff for Lt. Governor after edging out Cal Hobson and Jim Rogers.

Congratulations to Lloyd Fields winning our party's nomination for Labor Commissioner.

Kudos to incumbent Senator Connie Johnson and incumbent Representative Rebecca Hamilton. We need more women in the legislature and may get another one with Dana Orwig's primary win over Joe Hartman in HD 87. Also winning a primary was Kimberly Fobbs in HD 80. Melinda Johnson Ryan won the primary in HD 30 as did Kathryn Thompson in HD 29. Sue Barton took 53% in the CD 3 primary. Anastasia Pittman earned a runoff in HD 99. Women are on the move in the Democratic Party!

More tomorrow!

No comments: