Wednesday, November 15, 2006

Six New Democratic State Senators to Take Oath of Office on Statehood Day

Six new Democratic state senators will be sworn into office on Thursday, November 16, 2006, in the Senate chamber of the State Capitol. The Honorable Joseph M. Watt, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, will administer the oath of office on the 99th anniversary of Oklahoma’s statehood.

“As we head into our centennial year, it seems very appropriate that the first official act of this body, taking the solemn oath of office, will take place on Statehood Day,” said Sen. President Pro Tempore Mike Morgan, D-Stillwater. “We are making history as we prepare to lay the foundation for Oklahoma’s next 100 years.”

Newly elected members taking the oath of office include Sean Burrage, D-Claremore; Roger Ballenger, D-Okmulgee; Joe Sweeden, D-Pawhuska; John Sparks, D-Norman; Tom Ivester, D-Elk City; and Andrew Rice, D-Oklahoma City.

The visitor’s gallery of the Senate chamber will be open to family, friends, supporters and other members of the public who wish to attend. Streaming video and audio of the ceremony will also be available on the Senate website at

No comments: