Sunday, December 10, 2006

CD5 Democrats Holiday Celebration

Last night the CD5 Democrats honored Rep. Al Lindley with the annual Keith Leftwich Memorial Award. State Senator Debbe Leftwich praised Lindley for his activism and service to his constituents in south Oklahoma City's House District 93. Leftwich said Lindley best represents the courage and leadership that so many remember her late husband for.

State Rep. Richard Morrissette (HD92) added his praise for his colleague and admonished all present to conduct their business and personal lives like "real Democrats" so as to continue the legacy of Senator Keith Leftwich. (Keith Leftwich was Senator in District 44 when he died in September 2003. Debbe Leftwich was elected in December 2003 to complete his term and then she ran unopposed in 2006 for her first full term in the State Senate.)

Former ODP Chair Jay Parmley emceed the evening and introduced Senator Andrew Rice to give the first Keith Smith award. The award was given to Smith, posthumously, for his service and activism on behalf of women, children, the environment, and Democrats. Linda Gray Murphy accepted the award on his behalf.

I was pleased to bring a short thank you message from the Oklahoma Democratic Party to the group before dinner. Thanks to Bob Lemon for his gracious support of the event. It was great to see party officials from other districts at the event also; Judy Calhoun from CD4 and Anita Norman from CD3 were there. I'm always happy to see Gordon and Judy Melson and Liz Estes from Seminole. (They are also very generous supporters of the Democratic Party.)

Congratulations to CD5 officers for a nice event: Jeremy Hendricks, Lillie Buckner, and Debbie Hogue-Downing.

I enjoyed dinner conversation with Oklahoma County Democratic Party Chair Kitti Asberry, ODP/DNC organizer Teresa Hill, Calvin Rees and Ellen Stevens. And I can't forget one of my very favorite Democrats Marjean Mitchell who has been one of the ODP's best volunteers for years. Some of the others attending were Rep. Ryan McMullen and Jenna Kennedy, Rep. Mike Shelton, Cassie McCoy, Ward Curtin, Ron Davis, Russell Griffin, Glenn and Jane Hightower, Dana Orwig, and at least a hundred others.

The event was held at the Teamsters Local Union 866 Hall.

1 comment:

Oilfieldguy said...

I planned on attending that party, but unfortunately I ended up fighting back a bad cold. I look forward to meeting you.